The Vampire Diaries
Automatically track what you’re watching
Join a community with a new generation of fans

or
Sign in with Google
Join the community
Please enter all the fields
Please enter a correct Email
Yahoo emails are not allowed
This Email is already registered in Simkl
Name too short
Password is too short
You can choose a password length of not more than 50 characters. Do not forget to switch keyboard layout to the English. Do not choose a password too simple, less then 4 characters, because such a password is easy to find out. Allowed latin and !@#$%^&*()_-+=., characters
Create Free Account
Already have an account?  Enter  
Back
Welcome back!
Please enter all the fields
Incorrect login or password entered
Sign In
Forgot your password?
Don’t have an account?  Create Account  
Back
Forgot your password?
Please enter your Email
This Email is not registered in Simkl
Failed to send email, try again later
Don't worry. It's easy to reset.

Please enter your Simkl username or E-mail from your account to start the password recovery process.
Reset Password
We have sent instructions to the email address you provided during signup. Please follow the link from the email to continue.
Back

TOP

JOIN SIMKL
1978-09-02T00:00:00Z
Dawn of the Dead

Dawn of the Dead

DVD • September 2, 1978  • 2h 7m • NR • Budget $650,000 • Box Office $55,000,000
7.8/10
144 votes
 
10
7.9/10
115664 votes
 
-
YOUR
RATING
 
RANKED
# 1076
DROP RATE
0.5%
Horror
 
During an ever-growing epidemic of zombies that have risen from the dead, two Philadelphia SWAT team members, a traffic reporter, and his television-executive girlfriend seek refuge in a secluded shopping mall.
  • Dawn of the Dead (1979...
  • Dawn Of The Dead (1978...
  • John Landis on DAWN OF...
Dawn of the Dead | Dawn of the Dead (1979) Trailer
 
Search on popular sources:
 X
Other Titles: George A. Romero's Dawn of the Dead, Zombies: Dawn of the Dead, Zombie, ゾンビ
Sub Genres: army, mall, biker, motorcycle gang, zombie, flesh eating, machete, zombie apocalypse, low budget film, infection, rock gang, state of emergency, cult film, chaos, helicopter, bite, gore, truck, materialism, martial law, Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Release Date: Theatre 09/02/1978, Theatre US 04/20/1979, DVD 11/17/2000
Country: US
Box Office: $55,000,000 (Foreign)
Age Rating:
Director:
Type: Movie
Links:
Plan to Watch
156 (28%)
I've seen this
399 (71.6%)
Not Interesting
2 (0.4%)
Total
557
8 Reactions
 
7 Reviews
 
Add Comments
 
1 Memo
 
ABOUT #DAWNOFTHEDEAD Newest Oldest Top Replies Top comments Top Memos Most Helpful Most Likes
57.1%
positive reviews
4
Positive
2
Neutral
1
Negative
Add Your Review
Add Comment
English only please. Home rules.
 
POST COMMENT
 
~
July 09, 2019 - by CiEm Pank
Overall
Rating:
4
Переоцененная срань. Постановка вообще отдельная тема для разговора, построить весь фильм тупо на эффекте Кулешова, это конечно даже для 78 года зашквар. Ну, а от зомбаков вообще на рофлюру больше пробивает, чем на страх. read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
+
August 13, 2019 - by Chris
Overall
Rating:
10
fucking fuckity fuck yeah! i love this film. read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
+
January 06, 2020 - by Shivani
Overall
Rating:
9
came for the horror. stayed for the commentary on society. one of the best. read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
+
January 17, 2020 - by Jason Foss
Overall
Rating:
7
francine parker: what the hell are they? peter: they're us, that's all, when there's no more room in hell. stephen: what? peter: something my granddad used to tell us. you know macumba? vodou. my granddad was a priest in trinidad. he used to tell us, "when there's no more room in hell, the dead will walk the earth." ...wonder where i've heard that before. read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
+
June 21, 2020 - by Justin Purwitsky
Overall
Rating:
9
hoop-tober 2.0: film 14 *********************************************************************** after some careful research it became clear that the preferred and best version of dawn of the dead is the original us theatrical release so that is the one i chose to watch and review (i have the 4 disc dvd set with three versions of the film). i hadn't seen this movie in years but prior to that long gap i had probably seen it at least a dozen times. i loved this film growing up and today was the first time i got to watch it in glorious widescreen and possibly uncut. did it hold up to my memories?... read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
-
April 07, 2021 - by Robyn Hamilton
Overall
Rating:
4
a great benchmark for zombie cinema read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
~
August 30, 2021 - by psychopik
Overall
Rating:
6
by no means do i think this is a bad movie, i just think it's too much of a slow burn and those comical tunes completely undermine any atmosphere it has going for it. i understand that the argento cut has more goblin music which sounds like a better deal, but i'm having trouble tracking that down. another reason why i prefer day of the dead is that its conflict is tangible from the start, whereas dawn never gets any tension going until the biker gang shows up, like 90 minutes in. and it doesn't sound like a circus show. rip romero tho. read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Friend’s ratings:
Friends BETTER
TOGETHER
Follow your friends to see their ratings and comments about this Movie  

Member’s ratings:
Keten Keten 7
The zombie film that all zombie films are compared to.

Top Box Office Weekend
1. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings $34.7M
2. Free Guy $5.6M
3. Malignant $5.4M
4. Candyman $4.8M
5. Jungle Cruise $2.3M
September 17 - 19




 
You’re not logged in!
 
If you don’t have an account, go ahead and sign up. It takes like two seconds and it’s totally worth it.
 
  • No ads when logged in
  • Follow Movies you enjoy watching
  • Get notifications when they air
  • Share your library with friends
  • Discover new Movies
  • All TV, Anime & Movies in one place
 
Log in
Sign up



Share this page with your friends and followers:
Get VIP
Become a Pro or a VIP member
and unlock premium perks
Get VPN
Explore the the Best VPN services of 2021.
The all-access pass to global content
Apps
Simkl has apps for Android, iOS, Chrome,
Windows, Kodi, Plex and more!
Simkl automatically tracks what you’re watching, tells you how many episodes you’ve missed, and connects you to what your friends are into.
99,707 TV Shows
12,335 Anime
615,659 Movies
2,357,135 Members
Start tracking what you watch
Sign Up with Google
Sign Up with Email
MADE WITH ♥ IN NYC
© 2021. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.