The Vampire Diaries
Automatically track what you’re watching
Join a community with a new generation of fans

or
Sign in with Google
Join the community
Please enter all the fields
Please enter a correct Email
Yahoo emails are not allowed
This Email is already registered in Simkl
Name too short
Password is too short
You can choose a password length of not more than 50 characters. Do not forget to switch keyboard layout to the English. Do not choose a password too simple, less then 4 characters, because such a password is easy to find out. Allowed latin and !@#$%^&*()_-+=., characters
Create Free Account
Already have an account?  Enter  
Back
Welcome back!
Please enter all the fields
Incorrect login or password entered
Sign In
Forgot your password?
Don’t have an account?  Create Account  
Back
Forgot your password?
Please enter your Email
This Email is not registered in Simkl
Failed to send email, try again later
Don't worry. It's easy to reset.

Please enter your Simkl username or E-mail from your account to start the password recovery process.
Reset Password
We have sent instructions to the email address you provided during signup. Please follow the link from the email to continue.
Back

TOP

JOIN SIMKL
1980-05-17T00:00:00Z
The Empire Strikes Back

The Empire Strikes Back

DVD • May 17, 1980  • 2h 4m • PG • Budget $18M • Box Office $538,400,000
8.5/10
1083 votes
 
10
8.7/10
1173117 votes
 
-
YOUR
RATING
 
RANKED
# 42
DROP RATE
0.3%
Action, Adventure, Science Fiction
 
The epic saga continues as Luke Skywalker, in hopes of defeating the evil Galactic Empire, learns the ways of the Jedi from aging master Yoda. But Darth Vader is more determined than ever to capture Luke. Meanwhile, rebel leader Princess Leia, cocky Han Solo, Chewbacca, and droids C-3PO and R2-D2 are ... More
  • The Empire Strikes Bac...
  • Star Wars Episode V: T...
  • The Empire Strikes Bac...
  • The Empire Strikes Bac...
  • The Empire Strikes Bac...
  • The Empire Strikes Bac...
  • The Empire Strikes Bac...
The Empire Strikes Back | The Empire Strikes Back: Theatrical Trailer #2
 
Search on popular sources:
 X
Other Titles: Star Wars - Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back, Star Wars 05 Star Wars Episode v the Empire Strikes Back, Star Wars։ Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back, The Empire Strikes Back: StarWars II, The Empire Strikes Back (Despecialized Edition), Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back, Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back Special Edition, Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back - Despecialized Edition, Star Wars: Episode 5 - The Empire Strikes Back, Star Wars- Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back, Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back, Star Wars V Despecialized, Star Wars Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back, Star Wars 5, Star Wars 4K80, Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back, Star Wars : Épisode V - L'Empire contre-attaque, Star Wars Episode V The Empire Strikes Back - OP, Star Wars Episode V The Empire Strikes Back - DC, Star Wars DSE: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back, スター・ウォーズ エピソード5 / 帝国の逆襲, スター・ウォーズ エピソード5/帝国の逆襲
Sub Genres: lightsaber, famous score, space battle, snow storm, space colony, rescue, duel, famous twist, wookie, jedi master, rebel, part of trilogy, jedi, rebellion, the force, droid, stormtrooper, space opera, android, asteroid, spacecraft, jedi training
Release Date: Theatre 05/17/1980, DVD 04/04/1997, Theatre US 09/25/2020
Country: US
Box Office: $2,482,000 (Domestic) + $535,918,000 (Foreign) = $538,400,000 (Worldwide)
Age Rating:
Director:
Type: Movie
Links:
Plan to Watch
156 (4.2%)
I've seen this
3,552 (95.5%)
Not Interesting
12 (0.3%)
Total
3,720
20 Reactions
 
13 Reviews
 
Add Comments
 
7 Memos
 
ABOUT #THEEMPIRESTRIKESBACK Newest Oldest Top Replies Top comments Top Memos Most Helpful Most Likes
61.5%
positive reviews
8
Positive
5
Neutral
0
Negative
Add Your Review
Add Comment
English only please. Home rules.
 
POST COMMENT
 
+
April 08, 2019 - by Aaron Chuah
Overall
Rating:
8
the weak(link) in the original trilogy, still outshines the prequel set read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
+
May 13, 2019 - by s h a w n
Overall
Rating:
7
well the empire sure did strike back!! read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
+
July 09, 2019 - by CiEm Pank
Overall
Rating:
10
greatest film ever. read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
+
August 13, 2019 - by Chris
Overall
Rating:
10
my second secret cinema. this time my wife came with me. whilst i prefer back to the future as a film this was an even better experience. the attention to detail was phenomenal. walking around mos eisley was great fun. sat in the cantina and characters will come sit with you and act out scenes. i was blown away. i'd love to talk about everything that happened but i think that would spoil it for anyone who is still to go. read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
+
September 25, 2019 - by headfallsoff
Overall
Rating:
8
a way less coherent or consistent movie than its predecessor but after the kinda boring first fourty five minutes it finally decides to be real great. read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
+
March 22, 2020 - by Rouge Gum
Overall
Rating:
10
this film is rich with character depth and development for each one of the main characters including vader. and that is the greatest feat that this movie has against other films. this is one of the best sequels ever made and one of the richest score that you will ever hear. and the revelation at the end was earned, from the first film through this sequel we get a hint that luke's father was anakin skywalker aka darth vader. (it must be amazing to experience that revelation of vader back in the '80s. in my case when i was 8/9 years old where i first watched star wars in the '2000s i already... read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
+
May 03, 2020 - by Vicenzo
Overall
Rating:
8
it only took 5 episodes to find one that's interesting read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
+
June 21, 2020 - by Justin Purwitsky
Overall
Rating:
10
star wars marathon: part v i can't believe i made it back in time for this movie. i raced downstairs, i had my smoke and i raced back upstairs. nothing had started. i took my seat in anticipation of my favourite film in the series and i could feel the buzz in the theatre. 2 more movies and then the force awakens we were all thinking. the lights came down and empire started up. again, it's the special edition version we watched but unlike the others very little has changed here. and right from the get go until the last shot this film never let's up. it's funny, it's sad, it's filled with read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
~
March 01, 2021 - by Gabriel Piepgrass
Overall
Rating:
9
i love the depth this film brings to the characters, making the stakes not necessarily grander, but more personal. also the origin of a lot of iconic moments; this is when star wars solidifies itself as a franchise with potential. read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
~
January 21, 2021 - by Owen Flynn
Overall
Rating:
4
the franchise challenge - star wars essential 1980s movies empire strikes back: when i saw this first time round the twist blew me away. its not such a big deal on rewatches. however we can excuse that as it then it leaves you to enjoy everything else around it, which is amazing - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
~
August 06, 2020 - by Isi Jiménez Cortés
Overall
Rating:
6
mítica. documento historico de la cultura social occidental que envuelve nuestros dias y los mina de referencias. envejece tan bien como benjamin button. read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
~
April 11, 2021 - by triddell24
Overall
Rating:
5
a movie that flips the sequel formula on its head. whenever a movie that comes out better than the original or even a little darker it gets referred to as “the empire strikes back” of its franchise. that or “godfather part ii”. either way its great company to keep. read more
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
~
April 15, 2018 - by Huss
Overall
Rating:
6
it is a bit better but still a kids story read more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Friend’s ratings:
Friends BETTER
TOGETHER
Follow your friends to see their ratings and comments about this Movie  

Member’s ratings:
JaEF JaEF 10
changed my life.
Akoram Akoram 9
No I am your father.
cece_garam cece_garam 9
[2007-??-??]

Top Box Office Weekend
1. Godzilla vs. Kong $32.2M
2. The Unholy $3.2M
3. Nobody $3M
4. Raya and the Last Dragon $2M
5. Tom & Jerry $1.4M
April 9 - 11




 
You’re not logged in!
 
If you don’t have an account, go ahead and sign up. It takes like two seconds and it’s totally worth it.
 
  • No ads when logged in
  • Follow Movies you enjoy watching
  • Get notifications when they air
  • Share your library with friends
  • Discover new Movies
  • All TV, Anime & Movies in one place
 
Log in
Sign up



Share this page with your friends and followers:
Get VIP
Become a Pro or a VIP member
and unlock premium perks
Get VPN
Explore the the Best VPN services of 2021.
The all-access pass to global content
Apps
Simkl has apps for Android, iOS, Chrome,
Windows, Kodi, Plex and more!
Simkl automatically tracks what you’re watching, tells you how many episodes you’ve missed, and connects you to what your friends are into.
92,515 TV Shows
11,963 Anime
571,361 Movies
2,181,157 Members
Start tracking what you watch
Sign Up with Google
Sign Up with Email
MADE WITH ♥ IN NYC
© 2021. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.